Vegan Pancakes and some Cinnamon Rolls (to keep the balance)

Emma here reporting over the last few days. Olivia had a few friends sleep over last night to celebrate the end of the first week of school. I was babysitting at a neighbor’s house and got a call from my mom, checking up on me. She was, of course, at Trader Joe’s picking up cinnamon rolls, a sleepover staple, for the next morning. These are the ultimate easy breakfast: take the dough out of the can, put it on a cookie sheet, stick it in the oven, and 10 (not 20 like the can instructs) minutes later comes out warm, slightly doughy, cinnamon rolls. Absolutely delicious, especially topped with the icing that comes in a packet on the side.

My dad was still making early morning rounds when this scrumptious creation was removed from the oven.  We made sure to reserve the largest roll with the most cinnamon and icing for him. He arrived home an hour later, bolted to the microwave to heat it up (the man cannot stand previously hot food cold) and added an unnecessary portion of butter to it. The plate was empty in a matter of seconds. I think he liked it…..

On the topic of breakfasts, I found myself with some rare leisure time at 9 o’clock last Friday morning. I had woken up slighty punky with large lymph nodes and a funny sounding voice, and my cross country coach sent me home with instructions to take the morning off from running and rest up. I went home, frustrated at the prospect of being sick (I absolutely loathe being sick, just ask my mother) and feeling lonely with the house all to myself. Tummy rumbling, I decided to whip up some pancakes for myself. Since I can never experiment when my sister and father are part of the eating party, I decided to take a little liberty this morning and try something new – and voila! my new favorite (vegan) pancake recipe was born. Partially based off of my mom’s oatmeal pancake recipe, famous marathoner Ryan Hall’s “cytocakes”, and a little bit of my own invention. Ryan Hall adds Cytomax protein powder to his; I didn’t have any of that, but I decided to use some hemp protein we had in the cupboard.

Here’s my recipe (I didn’t measure everything, so it is partly an estimate):

Emma’s Morning Cakes

  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup white flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup hemp protein powder (vanilla flavor from trader joe’s!)
  • 2 tsp ground flaxseed meal plus 6 tsp water
  • 1 cup soymilk
  • 2 tbsp blue agave syrup

Combine oats, flours, soda, powder, and protein in a bowl. Mix flaxseed and water in a separate bowl until thick and gelatinous. Add soymilk and agave to flax/water mixture. Then fold liquids into the dry ingredients. Let sit for a few minutes while heating up the griddle and flapjack away! I ate my pancakes topped with earth balance and vermont maple syrup (from trader joes!) with greek yogurt and fresh raspberries on the side. So yummy. I am planning on trying them with Tera’s Whey acai protein next! (My dad is a big acai fan-I think I might win him over with acai pancakes).

One thought on “Vegan Pancakes and some Cinnamon Rolls (to keep the balance)

  1. Ooooh, have to head to Trader Joe,s for some of those cinnamon rolls! They sound and look absolutely scrumptious. Hope you feel better soon! Looking forward to some more of your recipes

Leave a Reply

