Black Bean Hummus

Image

When we were in Colorado, I enjoyed a veggie wrap with black bean hummus spread inside. The moment I took my first bite, I knew it was something that I needed to recreate.

As my kitchen adventures normally begin, I was a bit bored one afternoon and opened up the refrigerator. My mom had recently picked up a bountiful gathering of fresh vegetables at the Farmer’s Market.

Image

When I looked for hummus to accompany the veggies for a snack, I was disappointed to find none in the bin. Suddenly, that hot afternoon in Breckenridge came back to me, accompanied by a glass of raspberry iced tea and a fresh veggie wrap. I knew that this similarly steamy afternoon called for not just ordinary hummus, but black bean hummus!

After doing a bit of research online, I took out a recipe book that came with our Vitamix blender and found a recipe for hummus. I basically followed those instructions but switched out the chickpeas with black beans. The result was fantastic, and we enjoyed it for about a week with various different side dishes.

Image

Black Bean Hummus

Ingredients:

2 (15 oz) cans of black beans; one drained, one with liquid

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup raw sesame seeds

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp garlic salt (you can also use 1/2 tsp regular salt, 1 clove of garlic)

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (optional, use more for a spicier dip)

What to do:

1. Place all ingredients, except salt, into a high quality blender (I used our Vitamix) or a food processor.

Image

2. Blend on high for 1 minute.

Image

3. Season to taste with salt.

4. Enjoy with raw veggies, crackers, chips, or whatever suits your fancy.

 

Leave a Reply

