Pumpkin Pancakes

There is nothing better than coffee and pumpkin pancakes on a cool summer morning. With college just a week away, I felt that I needed a kick back into school mode. In a round about way, pumpkin reminds me of fall, and fall reminds me of back to school catalogs, and back to school catalogs center my mind around academia.

These pumpkin pancakes were truly lifesavers this morning. I had just said a goodbye to one of my very best friends after our last morning run with each other for a few months, and I needed some cheering up about this whole college thing. I came home to a fresh pot of coffee and a lone can of pumpkin staring at me from inside the cupboard. After doing a bit of researching, I had a plan of action.

With a full tummy and peace of mind, I present to you a delectable pumpkin pancake recipe. Don’t wait until October to try it.

If you want, throw some dark chocolate chunks in the batter for a treat! I did so with no regrets on my last few pancakes…

Pumpkin Pancakes

Adapted from several recipe sources

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon/sugar mix
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 egg

Directions:

1. Put milk, oil, pumpkin, vanilla, and the egg yolk into a blender and mix on a medium speed until well combined.

2. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon/sugar, baking powder, soda, salt, and nutmeg.

3. With the blender on a low speed, slowly add dry ingredients. Once the ingredients begin to incorporate, gradually raise the speed until well mixed.

4. Whisk egg yolk on high until it forms stiff white peaks. Mix into batter until it just disappears.

5. Grease your pan, plop on a 1/4 cup batter at a time, wait until the top side bubbles, flip and cook for 45 more seconds, and devour. Repeat. My suggested toppings are maple syrup, greek yogurt, and ground flax seed.

Leave a Reply

