Whole Wheat Persimmon Scones

We had our first snowfall last night. True to my Southern Californian nature, I was overly excited. While it was just a light dusting barely visible on of the grass, there was something magical about meandering back from a seminar class at 9 o’clock at night surrounded by white flakes drifting to the ground. I looked ridiculous trying to catch them on my tongue. Typical, I know.

The snow was still there this morning. On my way back from the pool after a cold morning swim, baking just felt like the perfect thing to do in my free time before class. Homework could wait.

I gathered up ingredients in a bag and lugged them down to the first floor and into the lovely dorm kitchen. Nothing better than the smell of old food stuck to communal cooking utensils college students are too lazy to clean properly.

My first step was to re-clean everything I needed to use (just a precaution, but one that is probably necessary).

The baking came next. Then the eating.

This recipe was useful to me for several reasons: no eggs (kind of hard to bike back 2 miles from the store with a carton of eggs safely in the backpack), relative simplicity, and persimmons, which happened to be my latest impulse bye at Trader Joes this past Sunday.

I based my recipe off of Sprouted Kitchen’s recent post for persimmon scones, which was based on a recipe from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook. With the great minds behind the development of this recipe, I knew these scones were going to be quite a treat.

I did make several substitutions due to availability of ingredients, but I think these still turned out pretty darn tasty.

Whole Wheat Persimmon Scones (no chia seeds necessary this time)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 6 tbsp coconut oil (make sure the oil is hardened)
  • 1 cup finely chopped Fuyu persimmons
  • 3/4 cup whole milk ricotta cheese
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425°F. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl(flour through spices).

2. Use your fingertips to incorporate coconut oil into flour mixture. (A pastry cutter would be best, but unfortunately I did not have this at my disposal).

3. Dice the persimmons finely before adding to the mixture.

4. Toss in the persimmons and mix well, breaking them up a bit more.

5. Add the ricotta and cream, mixing well with a spatula. If necessary, use you hands to knead the dough into an even mass.

6. Transfer dough mass to baking sheet and shape into a seven inch wide, 1 inch deep square. Divide evenly into 9 pieces and separate on the sheet. (I would have helpful pictures of this step, but at that moment a bunch of guys came in to make pancakes and I felt kind of ridiculous taking pictures).

7. Bake scones for 16-18 minutes, or until lightly golden on top and baked through. Let cool on the sheet for a minute and then transfer to cooling rack (or, if you don’t have a cooling rack – too fancy for college life – pile the warm scones on a plastic reindeer plate from Target).

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

