Espresso Date Muffins

espressodatemuffinslrg

My brief homecoming for President’s Day Weekend has been a wonderful and relaxing respite away from chemistry, philosophy, track talk, and other college related topics that engulf my daily life. I have enjoyed being out of 20 degree misery and in beautiful sunshine. The past few days haven’t been remarkable in any sense; life has consisted mainly of eating, sleeping, and salt water. A bit of color has returned to my face that my sister swears is a sunburn, but I like to think more of as a sun-kissed glow (one that has necessitated copious amounts of aloe vera). While I may not be quite ready to return to school tomorrow, I know that my paradise is awaiting my visit once again in just a few short weeks for spring break.

I broke in to the kitchen cabinets this morning and decided it was time to create. My sister and I whisked and stirred, dusting the kitchen floor with a coat of flour and making our fingertips sticky with coconut oil and dates. While the process was fun, the end product was even better. I stretched out on our living room couch with my dog at my feet, a good book in one hand and a crumbly muffin in the other. This is how life is supposed to be.

Espresso Date Muffins

adapted from Sprouted Kitchen

// Ingredients //

  • 1/2 cup/8 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 eggs
  • a generous 1/3 cup yogurt or kefir
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup raw turbinado sugar
  • 3/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1/3 cup oat flour (just grind oats in a Vitamix/Blendtec or food processor)
  • 1 cup almond flour/meal (you can also just grind almonds like the oats)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 (generous) tbsp finely ground coffee or espresso
  • 2/3 cup finely chopped dates (optional)
  • granola, for topping

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Melt coconut oil in microwave or over stove until liquid consistency (no lumps!)

Whisk together eggs, kefir or yogurt, and vanilla. Once the oil has cooled slightly, add it to this mixture.

In a separate bowl, combine sugar, flours, baking powder and soda, salt, cinnamon, and espresso. Sniff the combination of flavors and relish in its beauty.

Add wet ingredients to dry and mix gently. Fold in the chopped dates.

espressodatemuffinswetdrylrg

Add batter to a greased or lined muffin tin and top with granola if desired. You should get approximately 9 muffins if you fill the cups about 3/4 full. Bake for ~20 minutes until the edges are golden and the middle is cooked through.

If you can help it, try to let them cool before devouring.

Leave a Reply

