Kale Chips

Kale

Spring is around the corner. Warmer temperatures and clear roads prompted me to drag my bike out of storage last week, and I have been using it regularly for afternoon coffee shop dates with my homework and trips to Trader Joes. On my most recent trip to TJs, I picked up a bag of Lacinato Kale, a dark blue-green leafed variety of the cabbage.

One of my favorite ways to eat kale is in a crispy, chip-like form. Kale is an antioxidant powerhouse, and it also lowers cholesterol and risk of cancer, especially when cooked. It is more nutritious when cooked due to bile-acid binding. You can read more about it here. In the meantime, take my word for it and eat your next dose of kale this way:

Kale Chips

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of kale
  • 1 tbsp oil (I used coconut oil)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 lime, squeezed

Heat oil in a frying pan or small saucepan (or if you are a poor college student like me the only clean pot in the communal kitchen) until the pan is sufficiently hot – I waited until the coconut oil had turned to liquid. Slowly add kale in bunches to the pan, and stir frequently. Add salt and lime juice. Continue to cook under the edges of the kale are crispy and starting to brown slightly. Take off heat and enjoy warm or cooled. An revolutionary study snack.

2 thoughts on “Kale Chips

Leave a comment