(Perfected) Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_3308

A few nights ago while doing homework and sipping hot tea, I admitted to myself how much I would like to have a chocolate chip cookie. Unfortunately, I admitted to myself that I would also like to pass chemistry. Hence, as finals loom just two weeks away, I have severely limited free time to be making cookies. To compromise between my conflicting desires, I threw together the batter as quickly and efficiently as possible with the ingredients that I had on hand. I settled for eating the dough instead of trekking down to the kitchen to actually bake it, allowing for sufficient time remaining to finish studying, brush my teeth, and get seven (maybe six and a half) hours of shut-eye. In my frantic rush to satiate my sanity and my to-do list, I would never have guessed how good this batch of cookies would turn out.

After eating half the dough single-handedly and then the next day baking the rest of it into an over-sized cookie, I made a truly enlightening discovery. These are not just one bowl wonders, folks; these are one-Tupperware-container-with-a-fork-on-the-side-for-mixing-and-an-optional-oven wonders. No fuss is necessary, and although I may not be able to speak for all chocolate chip cookies, I can say that these are the best vegan chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted.

I shared the one large cookie (baked in a frying pan due to lack of baking sheets in the dorm kitchen) with a few friends at a play on Friday night. My friend actually brought a bag of flour up to my room today, begging me to make another batch. Apparently rushing through things doesn’t always lead to disaster (note: I can only claim this for vegan chocolate chip cookies; I definitely don’t recommend applying it to chemistry homework).

IMG_3307

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

loosely adapted from Pastry Affair

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used 1/4 cup white, 1/4 cup coconut sugar)
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup almond or coconut milk
  • 1 cup flour (1/2 cup whole wheat, 1/2 cup almond flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt (plus extra for sprinkling on top)
  • a lot of chocolate chips (non-dairy or high percent dark if you want these to be truly vegan cookies)

Directions

Preheat oven to 360 degrees (if you plan to bake – the raw dough just as delicious). Combine sugar, flour, soda, and salt in a bowl. Add the coconut oil at room temp (don’t melt it). With a fork or your fingers work the oil into the dough until most of the clumps are dissolved. Add the milk and chocolate and give it a final few stirs.  Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges.

One thought on “(Perfected) Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

