Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding

IMG_3330

Lately it seems that a multitude of chia seed concoctions have been sprouting up on Pinterest and popular food blogs. To say the least, I have remained skeptical about the vast majority of them.

I tend to associate chia seeds with a gummy texture and a bad aftertaste. My dad gulps them down mixed in orange juice before working out – ever since reading Born to Run, he seems to believe that this torture is a good trade off for speedy legs. (All things chia aside, I do highly recommend the book. It is a compelling read.)

Before the evolution of this chia seed pudding, the only way I could get chia seeds down my throat without initiating a gag reflex was by blending them into oblivion in a smoothie. Otherwise, they ruin my oatmeal, they ruin my yogurt and granola, they ruin my salads, they definitely ruin my orange juice, and naturally I assumed that they would ruin my pudding as well.

I was wrong. This chocolate chia seed pudding isn’t gummy or gelatinous, and although the seeds do add texture to the pudding, they compromise neither flavor nor consistency.

So far, I have eaten this in several different fashions. I have enjoyed it plain, topped with bananas and coconut, and also mixed into yogurt with almonds and granola. It can serve as breakfast or a light dessert. If you are a lover of chia seeds, you will definitely enjoy this. Even if you are a loather of chia seeds, I still believe that you will enjoy this. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

I apologize for the lack of photos. I was not expecting this to be blog worthy, and thus was happily surprised (but still lacking visual aids).

Chocolate Maca Chia Seed Pudding

adapted from The First Mess.

  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 2 cups milk (I used unsweetened coconut milk)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp cacao maca mix (see below), or 2 tbsp of plain cocoa powder
  • 3 heaping tbsp honey

Mix ingredients thoroughly and allow to sit for several hours in the fridge. Once the mixture has thickened, it is ready to eat! It should keep for about 3 to 4 days if refrigerated.

Cacao Maca Mix (adapted from My New Roots):

  • 2 tbsp raw cacao powder
  • 2 tsp maca powder (sold at most health food stores, including Whole Foods)
  • 1 tbsp coconut sugar (or raw turbinado)
  • *a pinch (or more) each of sea salt, cinammon, cayenne pepper, and ground ginger

*play around with this to get the spice balance you prefer! I love lots of cayenne and ginger in mine.

We use the above mix to make raw hot chocolate by mixing the above recipe with 2 cups of hot water or milk. My mom sent me a batch of this recently in a care package; it provides comfort and nourishment for late at night, early in the morning, or heck smack in the middle of the day too.

Leave a Reply

